Location: Tainan, Taiwan
Date: June 29, 2024
Time: 11:30 (UTC + 8)

Sunday June 29: Vietnam: 10:30 (UTC + 7), France, Germany: 5:30 (UTC + 2)
Saturday June 28 US: 22:30 (US: Eastern Time, UTC -5), 21:30 (Mexico & US: Central Time, UTC – 6)

The life and work of women artists has been, more often than not, neglected and excluded from history.

In the Second Sex, Beauvoir argues that women in science, literature, and art were usually seen only as muses who inspired the work of men.  This secondary status, driven by patriarchal attitudes, extended into the modern era when the muse became the inspirational lover. Few could accept that women could be a source of creativity. In A Room of One’s Own, Virginia Woolf suggests that the reason so much literature and poetry was signed Anon (anonymously) was to hide the identity of the author, a woman.

Women artists have always existed. And yet, how familiar are we with their work? Join us for a chance to talk about some of the artists and cultural projects from women, especially those who have used their work to raise awareness about feminist issues.

Resources

Live in Tainan

or

Online

An email will be sent with either location information or the Google Meet link.